Functional Supramolecular Materials: From Surfaces to MOFs Editor: Rahul Banerjee

Publication details

Print publication date
09 May 2017
Copyright year
Print ISBN
ePub eISBN

About this book

Supramolecular materials have a great number of applications due to the reversibility of their non-covalent molecular interactions, such as reversible hydrogen bonding, host–guest interactions and electrostatic interactions. This book provides a comprehensive source of information on the structure and function of organic and metal–organic supramolecular materials.
The chapters of this book provide an overview of supramolecular material assembly at various scales, including the formation of 2D polymers and molecular cages. The role of intermolecular interactions in solid and solution state self-assembly is discussed, as is the role of mechanochemistry on molecular and supramolecular architectures. Finally, novel applications of these materials in molecular recognition, catalysis, light harvesting and environmental remediation are covered.
Functional Supramolecular Materials will be of interest to graduate students and researchers in academia and industry in the fields of supramolecular chemistry and functional materials science.

Author information

Rahul Banerjee received his PhD degree from University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad in 2006 under the supervision of Prof. Gautam R. Desiraju. After postdoctoral work at UCLA with Prof. Omar M. Yaghi (2006-2008), he joined the National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India in 2008 as a Scientist. His research interests include the study of structural chemistry with chemical synthesis to design new materials for hydrogen storage and carbon sequestration. Additionally, his group is also engaged in design and synthesis of lightweight materials for storage, capture and proton conduction. Dr Banerjee is an Editorial board member and associate editor of CrystEngComm. He has also served as a co-editor of Acta Crystallographica Section E in 2011-2012. Dr Banerjee has been invited to become a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2013 in recognition of his significant contribution to Chemical Science and, in particular, to his work on the board of CrystEngComm.