Journal of Materials Chemistry A



View Article Online

View Journal | View Issue

CORRECTION



Cite this: J. Mater. Chem. A, 2014, 2, 18147

Correction: Dye-sensitized solar cells based on organic dyes with naphtho[2,1-b:3,4-b']-dithiophene as the conjugated linker

Xiaoxu Wang,^a Lei Guo,^b Ping Fang Xia,^b Fan Zheng,^a Man Shing Wong^{*b} and Zhengtao Zhu^{*ac}

DOI: 10.1039/c4ta90160f www.rsc.org/MaterialsA

Correction for 'Dye-sensitized solar cells based on organic dyes with naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b*']dithiophene as the conjugated linker' by Xiaoxu Wang *et al.*, *J. Mater. Chem. A*, 2013, **1**, 13328–13336.

This paper is not the first time the naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene is used as the π -spacer for metal-free organic dyes in dyesensitized solar cells (DSSCs), therefore, the words "for the first time" in the abstract of this paper should be deleted. Prior to this paper, organic sensitizers based on naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene were reported in "Embedding an electron donor or acceptor into naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene based organic sensitizers for dye-sensitized solar cells".¹ In ref. 1, naphtho-[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene was used as the π -spacer, methoxy triphenylamine was used as the electron donating group, and cyanoacrylic acid was used as the electron-withdrawing anchoring moiety. Additionally, an auxiliary electron-donating group, such as 3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene (EDOT), or an electron-withdrawing group, such as benzothiadiazole was incorporated in the sensitizers reported in ref. 1. DSSCs based on the sensitizers in ref. 1 displayed high efficiency and excellent stability. Our paper reported syntheses of a series of organic dyes using naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene as the π -conjugation linker, with carbazole or triarylamine as the electron donor group and cyanoacrylic acid as the electron-withdrawing anchoring moiety. Dyes with two naphtho[2,1-*b*:3,4-*b'*]dithiophene groups as the extended π -spacer were also reported in our paper.

References

1 Q. Feng, X. Jia, G. Zhou and Z.-S.Wang, Chem. Commun., 2013, 49, 7445-7447.

The Royal Society of Chemistry apologises for these errors and any consequent inconvenience to authors and readers.

Department of Chemistry and Applied Biological Sciences, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, South Dakota, 57701, USA

^aNanoscience and Nanoengineering PhD Program, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, South Dakota, 57701, USA. E-mail: zhengtao.zhu@sdsmt.edu ^bInstitute of Molecular Functional Materials[‡], Department of Chemistry and Institute of Advanced Materials, Hong Kong Baptist University, Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong SAR, China. E-mail: mswong@hkbu.edu.hk

[‡] Areas of Excellence Scheme (AoE/P-03/08), University Grants Committee, Hong Kong.