Jump to main content
Jump to site search

Issue 4, 2003
Previous Article Next Article

Chromogenic anion sensors

Author affiliations


Chromogenic sensors for anions generally consist of two parts: anion receptors and chromophores. In this review, 6 types of chromogenic anion sensors are described, namely, NH-based hydrogen bonding, Lewis acid, metal-ion template, transition metal complexes, chromogenic guest displacement and chromoreactands. The first 4 types possess anion receptors attached directly to the chromophores while the guest displacement techniques employ indicators as the ones that were replaced by specific anions. The last type has emerged recently and uses specific reactions between chromogenic hosts or indicators and particular anions to cause dramatic colour changes.

Graphical abstract: Chromogenic anion sensors

Back to tab navigation

Publication details

The article was received on 20 Jan 2003 and first published on 02 May 2003

Article type: Review Article
DOI: 10.1039/B209598J
Citation: Chem. Soc. Rev., 2003,32, 192-202
  •   Request permissions

    Chromogenic anion sensors

    C. Suksai and T. Tuntulani, Chem. Soc. Rev., 2003, 32, 192
    DOI: 10.1039/B209598J

Search articles by author